Gluten-Free Diet

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. A gluten-free diet involves excluding foods that contain gluten. This type of diet is recommended for those diagnosed with Celiac Disease (a genetic, autoimmune disorder) because ingestion of gluten can cause damage to the small intestines and nutritional deficiencies.


A gluten-free diet may also be recommended for those with a wheat allergy or those with a non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Symptoms of a gluten sensitivity include abdominal pain, bloating, or diarrhea after consuming gluten.


Following a gluten-free diet involves reading food labels carefully. Also, be mindful at restaurants that offer gluten-free options. There is still a risk of cross-contamination.


Talk with your health care provider or pharmacist about medications you’re taking, including over-the-counter medications, because some may contain wheat.


Avoid Foods with Gluten

  • Wheat (including durum, einkorn, faro, graham, kamut, spelt)
  • Enriched Flour
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Self-rising Flour
  • Tritical
  • Beer, Ale, Lagers
  • Bread Crumbs
  • Licorice
  • Wheat Pastas
  • Malt
  • Matzo

Check Labels for Gluten

  • Condiments
  • Candy
  • Drink Mixes
  • Broth
  • Baked Goods
  • Cake Frosting
  • Energy Bars
  • Snacks

Eat Gluten-Free Foods

  • Rice
  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Amaranth
  • Unprocessed beans and nuts
  • Lean and unprocessed meats
  • Unprocessed fish and poultry
  • Plain milk, yogurt, cheeses
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Cassava
  • Coconut Flour
  • Corn
  • Flax and Chia Seeds
  • Nut Flours
  • Oats labeled gluten-free
  • Potato Flour/Potato Starch
  • Tapioca
  • Soy Flour


Patient Education


Diet Information

Gastroparesis Diet


Gluten-Free Diet

Lactose-Free Diet